RedPassion.co.uk Wrexham FC Message Board

RedPassion.co.uk Wrexham FC Message Board (http://www.redpassion.co.uk/forums/)
-   Wrexham (http://www.redpassion.co.uk/forums/wrexham/)
-   -   Accessible Away Travel - Help Needed !! (http://www.redpassion.co.uk/forums/wrexham/111948-accessible-away-travel-help-needed.html)

Official DLO 24th May 2018 10.13:21

Accessible Away Travel - Help Needed !!

Asking for help, Please !! - I have been working behind the scenes for a couple of months now trying to sort adapted wheelchair travel to offer our disabled fans transport to away games. I have made over 40 phone calls, to local nursing homes, schools that have adapted buses, company's that have adapted coaches and the list goes on and on.....At the moment sadly I can't get anyone who is offering to provide this service. If anyone can offer me advice, ideas or contacts I would be extremely grateful. It seems at the moment, it is an impossible task, but I haven't given up yet !!
Thank you so much in advance

Hightown Brymbo Red 24th May 2018 10.39:55

Re: Accessible Away Travel - Help Needed !!

Ring Utd city Everton or Liverpool they have disabled sections as part of their club.They may have their own transport or will know where to get it from...Good luck

BillEBadass 24th May 2018 10.44:55

Keep trying ODLO - you are doing a grand job.

It is worth checking with major contributors, 'Children in Need' 'Lottery' etc on the grounds they supply schools with mini-buses. Sometimes these specify school business but also include 'community use' 'As schools rarely get requests for 'community use' they sometimes 'forget' this is a condition of the gift.

It is also worth considering the composition of the group of wheelchair users. How many would need to travel in their chairs? How many can make a safe transfer into a bus seat?